Comfort Food, My favorite!

Another chicken dish?! SURPRISE! Sorry carnivores, I am not a huge meat eater. But I do love comfort foods!

Tonight, I am making Chicken and Rice Casserole. Yummy yum! My mom has made this my entire life, so I stole it from her! (No shame!)  My favorite thing about this is that you can freeze it. So on a day you don’t feel like cooking, just thaw it out, and you have a great dinner. Oh, and it requires little effort, like most of what I make! 🙂

Ingredients you will need:

  • 1 Lb. Chicken Breast, boiled and diced
  • 1 Box (4 bags) Boil-in-the-Bag Rice (I use brown, but white is fine)
  • 2 Cans Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 2 Cans Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 3-4 Stalks Celery, diced (About 1 cup) You can substitute 1 Tsp. Celery Seed if you don’t like celery.
  • 2 Cups Shredded Cheddar
  • 2 Sleeve Crackers
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Chop up your celery. Boil Chicken in a pot with water, salt/pepper, and a little butter for flavor. You can leave chicken whole and boil.. but I go ahead and dice mine ahead then it only takes about 5-10 minutes to cook.

photo 2

In a large bowl, mix chicken, rice, soups, celery (or celery seed), and 1/2 cup of your shredded cheese.. You can add a little milk if its too thick. Also, go ahead and crumble your sleeves of crackers. I do so in a big bowl with the bottom of a glass.

photo 3

Pour mixture into a lightly greased casserole pan. Top evenly with the rest of the shredded cheese. Then top with cracker crumbs. Try and completely cover the cheese.

photo 4

To get the cracker crumbs to become crispy during baking, you can pour melted butter over the top of them.. Or I just give them a good spray  with cooking spray and it has the same effect with less bad stuff!

Bake at 375 degrees for about 25-35 minutes, or until crackers become golden brown.

Image (2)

Serve and Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

