Truly The EASIEST Chicken Pot Pie

photo 2Shout out to Shelley!!!! 

This recipe I cannot claim as my own, for it is Shelley’s! (Shelley= coworker/dear friend <3) Anyways, a couple of years ago.. she and I are having a conversation at her house…and I am stating how badly I want Chicken Pot Pie, but I don’t want to put forth the effort to make it. Shelley enlightens me that there is a much easier way, AND that everything we need to do so is in the house RIGHT NOW. Happy Nikki. So I am told how to do it, and to my excitement, it was every bit as easy as she said it would be.

Besides being easy, this is literally the best Pot Pie I have ever made. So delicious!

Here’s what you will need: Count em, 5 INGREDIENTS!photo 1

  • 1 Pack of Chicken Tenderloins
  • 1 (2 cups) Bag of Shredded Cheese
  • 1 Box Unroll and Bake Pie Crust (there will be 2 in a box)
  • 1 Large Can Cream of Chicken Soup (It usually doesn’t take the entire can, I just like to be safe)
  • 1 Bag Frozen Vegetable Soup Mix, Kroger is the best place to buy this!

Directions

Preheat oven to temperature listed on the pie crust box, typically this is 425-450. Once oven is hot.. Press one of the sleeves of dough into a pie pan, mark a few time with a fork or knife to prevent air bubbles, and cook for about 10 minutes. Not too long, you just want to cook the bottom a tiny bit before adding saucy ingredients to it. This will keep the bottom crust from becoming soggy. Place chicken into a pot with water and salt/pepper. Boil until tender. Also, while chicken is boiling, in a separate pot, go ahead and boil your frozen vegetables for a few minutes, to ensure that they become as tender as they should in baking. You don’t want to put them in the pie frozen.

photo 3

Once your Chicken and Vegetables are done boiling. Drain, dice chicken and put that and the vegetables into a large bowl. Add soup a little at a time, until it is as saucy as you like it. I use just about a whole large can, because I like my pot pie really saucy. Now add 1/2 of the Shredded Cheese and combine it all together. Pour mixture into the pie dish.

.photo 4

On top of this mixture, add remaining 1/2 of the shredded cheese. Now place the other pie crust on top. You don’t have to be fancy with it. My Momma has just always taught me that presentation is 95% of your meal. So I have to! No matter how pretty it is, make sure to somewhat seal the edges around the filling so it doesn’t spill out of the sides. Cut a few slits in the top and bake for until lightly browned, be careful not to burn the edges. It takes usually around 30 minutes. (You can add foil to the edges to prevent burning) Remove from the oven, and if you can stand to wait, it is a lot easier to remove from the pan if you let it rest for 10-15 minutes! Believe me it’ll still be hot! AND ENJOY!

photo 5

I refuse to make Chicken Pot Pie any way ever again! Thanks Shelley!!!!

2 thoughts on “Truly The EASIEST Chicken Pot Pie

Leave a Reply

